Board Of Directors

The Board of Directors are the accountable body for all Academies within the Trust.  The Board support and challenge school leadership, and meet at least once a term.

Mr William Thallon – Non Executive Director – Chair

William Thallon is a Mathematics Advisor for ‘Herts for Learning’, a school improvement organisation based in Stevenage.  He has spent a career in education, having taught in Dorset, North Wales, Cumbria and Northamptonshire.  From 2004 to 2015 he was Headteacher of Wrenn School in Wellingborough.

His interests include Music as well as Mathematics, having performed with a number of different groups, both locally and further afield.  He has wide-ranging experience of a range of educational functions, including leadership and teaching & learning.  He is also a governor of Bozeat Primary School.

Mr Rob Hardcastle – Chief Executive Officer

Rob Hardcastle, has 25 years of experience in education in Northamptonshire primary and secondary settings. He has worked in roles such as Advanced Skills Teacher, Deputy Headteacher, Headteacher and Head of Primary Education. He is currently CEO of Hatton Academies Trust.

Rob has a track record of successfully improving schools and securing educational excellence. Sir Christopher Hatton Academy is the highest performing secondary academy in the Northamptonshire and in the wider region and its primary academies are amongst the most improved in the county over the last three years.

In 2016, Rob was shortlisted for the Pearson Teaching Awards in the category of Primary Headteacher of the Year. He has secured judgements by Ofsted of Outstanding in every category in 2015. He is the senior partner for Challenge Partners Northants Hub and delivers NPQSL training for University College London.

Mr Colin Hinds – Director of Finance and Operations

Colin Hinds stepped into the role of Business Manager at Sir Christopher Hatton Academy in 2006, following a 12 year career in public sector finance and contracting within various Northamptonshire NHS organisations.

A finance and accounting graduate, he has served on the Governing Body of Sir Christopher Hatton Academy since 2006.

As Director of Finance and Operations to the Trust, Colin Hinds oversees all strategic aspects of the Trust’s financial, legal and administrative affairs.

Mr Graham Lawman – Non-Executive Director - Vice Chair

Graham Lawman is a Wellingborough Borough Councillor for Rixon Ward & County Councillor for Croyland & Swanspool Division and very active in the community.

Graham is keen to see excellence in education everywhere and is delighted to be able to support the Trust in achieving this – our children are our future!

At NCC, he has been Chairman of the £2.4bn Pensions fund, Finance Scrutiny Vice-Chairman and an Assistant Cabinet Member, Finance and is now Chairman of the Council.

For the Borough, he is a past Mayor and current Services Committee Chairman, with community and health responsibility, as well as having held other posts and sits on the Development and Planning Committees.

He is also a Governor at Croyland Primary School, Board Chairman of the Wellibus (Shire Community Services Ltd), Board member of Hemmingwell Community & Skills Centre, Governor at Kettering General Hospital, Trustee at Victoria Centre and Wellingborough Sea Cadets and Secretary of Northants Cricket League as well as supporting Wellingborough Town FC. He was previously a Board Member of the former Wellingborough, now Greatwell, Homes.

Now semi-retired, he was a self-employed finance broker and is married to Lora, a fellow Councillor.

Mr David Morris – Non Executive Director

David Morris is an active Chartered Quantity Surveyor and currently a Director at Tompkins Robinson Surveyors, in Wellingborough.  He has served as a Governor at Sir Christopher Hatton Academy since 2004 and has chaired the School’s Premises and Health and Safety committee ever since.

David is recognised as the Trust’s resident expert for all capital and maintenance projects in the Academy. He is also an ex-pupil of both Oakway and Westfield / Sir Christopher Hatton School, (1986 alumni) and lives in Wellingborough.

Mr Rashesh Joshi – Non Executive Director

Rashesh Joshi is a fully qualified Chartered Accountant (FCA) having trained and qualified with a Big 4 accounting firm and is the Managing Director and one of the co founders at Alexander Rosse Chartered Accountants.

Rashesh's main expertise is in combining good corporate governance with significant mergers and acquisition experience having worked on a number of corporate transactions totalling some $5.5 billion.

He is member of the Institute of Directors and a former pupil of both Victoria Junior School and Westfield/ Sir Christopher Hatton (1989 alumni) and lives in Milton Keynes.

Mr Chris Brown - Non Executive Director

Chris Brown is a qualified certified Accountant with over 20 years experience and has worked in a variety of industries giving him a well-rounded business experience.

He has always lived in Wellingborough attending Wrenn School as a student and has a child who attends Sir Christopher Hatton Academy. Chris is currently a Chief Financial Officer at Eden UK in Wellingborough.

Julia Kedwards (Templeman) - Non Executive Director

Julia Kedwards is the Chief Executive Officer of Northampton Primary Academy Trust (NPAT). Julia has worked for the trust for many years, having previously been Headteacher of Ecton Brook Primary School, a larger than average split site primary school in Northampton.  Julia is a founding member of NPAT and has led the evolution of the trust from its original five schools to its current position, establishing a central team and developing clear strategies for the development of the education, finance, operations and growth functions.

Julia was awarded an OBE for her work in the Queens New Years Honours List 2018.

Kay Aitken - Non Executive Director

Kay Aitken has over 20 years experience of working in Community Safety where she has developed a strong background in safeguarding.  She currently works with schools, communities and young people to help raise awareness of the wider safeguarding agenda, helping to implement projects and activities to help minimise risk behaviours.

Kay has also worked in local secondary school environments providing young people with the opportunity to complete their Duke of Edinburgh award as well as many roles in scouting over 20 years.

Kay has two children who currently attend schools with the Trust and is passionate about the safety and welfare of young people.

Joanne Austen - Non Executive Director

Joanne Austen, has lived and worked in Wellingborough and the surrounding area all of her life. She has 22 years of experience in the classroom, primarily as an infant teacher as well as various other roles including senior leader, advisory teacher and committee member.

Her interest in the Trust began by wanting a parental voice to be included but she is also passionate about children having the best life chances and opportunities possible.

How to contact any of our Directors or Members:

Contact : Debbie Felce, Hatton Academies Trust, Orchard House, 79 Gold Street, Wellingborough, Northants.  NN8 4EQ

Tel: 01933 221428